Joe Perry to Receive Prestigious Les Paul Award


Joe Perry to Receive Prestigious Les Paul Award

–Joe Lund

Aerosmith’s Joe Perry will be the next recipient of the Les Paul Award, an honor given annually for creative excellence in the field of audio recording. The veteran guitarist will be presented with the prize at the 32nd NAMM TEC Awards event, which takes place in Anaheim, California, on January 21. Named after audio pioneer and guitar great Les Paul, the award is bestowed upon individuals who “set the highest standards of excellence in the creative application of recording technology.”

“Any time my name is mentioned in the same sentence as Les Paul, it’s a huge honor,” said Perry, in a prepared statement. “Getting an award bearing his name is the icing on the cake.”

Past recipients of the Les Paul Award include Slash, Todd Rundgren, Pete Townshend, Steve Vai, Lindsey Buckingham and Brian Wilson, among others. The choice of Perry is the most recent in a long list of honors the guitarist has received over the years—including induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2001. The Les Paul Foundation’s executive director, Michael K. Braunstein, pointed out that the latest honor was well-deserved.

“Joe Perry was a friend of Les Paul’s and is undoubtedly one of the most innovative and talented musicians of our time,” said Braunstein. “His ability to push boundaries of the electric guitar with his signature sound and deft playing ability embodies the true spirit of what Les Paul and the award given in his name stands for.”

Organizers of the NAMM event have indicated they are “quietly confident” that Perry will perform during the festivities. The rocker recently revealed that he has a new solo album “in the can,” and expects to release some or all of the material in the coming year.