Joe Perry to Release New Solo Album, Sweetzerland Manifesto


Joe Perry to Release New Solo Album, Sweetzerland Manifesto

–Russell Hall

Joe Perry is set to kick off 2018 with his first full-length solo album in eight years. Titled Sweetzerland Manifesto, the 10-track LP features an array of high-profile guests, including singers David Johansen, Terry Reid, and Robin Zander of Cheap Trick. Johnny Depp, Perry’s bandmate in the all-star side-project Hollywood Vampires, served as the album’s executive producer.

With the exception of the P.F. Sloan classic “Eve of Destruction,” all the tracks on Sweetzerland Manifesto were written either by Perry (sometimes with help from longtime Aerosmith producer Jack Douglas), or as collaborations between the Aerosmith guitarist and his guest vocalist. Perry himself handles lead vocals on the cover of “Eve of Destruction,” with Depp manning the drums


Other guests on the album include drummer Zak Starkey (son of Ringo Starr) and Perry’s sons, Tony and Roman. “It’s going to be interesting to see what songs people gravitate to, because there’s such a wide variety of tunes,” observed Perry, in a prepared statement.

Sweetzerland Manifesto hits record stores on January 19. You can check out the track listing below.

Sweetzerland Manifesto track list:

“Rumble In The Jungle” (instrumental)

“I’ll Do Happiness” (featuring Terry Reid)

“Aye, Aye, Aye” (featuring Robin Zander)

“I Wanna Roll” (featuring David Johansen)

“Sick & Tired” (featuring Terry Reid)

“Haberdasher Blues” (featuring David Johansen)

“Spanish Sushi” (instrumental)

“Eve Of Destruction” (featuring Joe Perry)

“I’m Going Crazy” (featuring David Johansen)

“Won’t Let Me Go” (featuring Terry Reid)