The Strokes Return With New EP


The Strokes released new music today from their upcoming three song EP entitled Future Present Past due out June 3rd on vocalist Julian Casablanca’s’ Cult Records. The EP marks the bands first recording since 2013 Comedown Machine and the first Strokes record released on the label. Lead single “Oblivius” begins in classic Strokes fashion with delicate verse structure and Casablancas’ brooding vocals, but quickly erupts into a soaring sing-along chorus. Casablanca’s premiered the song the first episode of his new monthly Sirius XM show Culture Void.

The EP is currently available to stream on Spotify, but is available for pre-order on 10-inch vinyl with limited edition color vinyl available on Cult records in red, and independent retailers in blue. The band will also set up a temporary store in New York from May 30th through June 5th at 352 Bowery with a limited midnight release sale for the EP on June 2nd. Paralleling the EP’s release the Strokes will be headlining the New York City’s Governors Ball. Fans can preview the Strokes set when they perform a warm-up gig on May 31st at the Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, New York.

Brian Furman