New Music From The Red Hot Chili Peppers


The Red Hot Chili Peppers have finally unveiled details regarding their eleventh studio album, titled The Getaway and slated for release on June 17 via Warner Bros.

The Getaway is the Peppers’ second album to feature guitarist Josh Klinghoffer and their first to be made without the assistance of producer Rick Rubin since 1989’s Mother’s Milk.  The announcement came with their first single in five years, the wistful “Dark Necessities,” which seems to herald the new direction the band promised but didn’t quite deliver on with 2011’s I’m With You.  This latest, piano-driven offering finds Anthony Keidis reciting some of his most introspective lyrics with Flea laying down a funky slap-bass line and hand claps adding a welcome flavor to Chad Smith’s drumming.  Guitars take a back seat throughout most of the song, but a moody solo during the tail end solidifies Klinghoffer’s place as a worthy addition to the foursome.

The new record was produced by Danger Mouse and mixed by Radiohead collaborator Nigel Godrich.  The band is supporting the album with a world tour that includes a headlining slot at Reading & Leeds in August.

To pre-order The Getaway click here